Miva Merchant Community Forums

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    152

    Default FedEx and Canada > no rates showing

    Hi all,
    Just added FedEx Web Services (PR8 - U5), but I'm having trouble getting rates to show for Canada.
    I have FedEx Ground/Home Delivery, International Priority and International Economy as options for international customers.
    Shipping SuperMod also set to accept Canada and other countries I offer shipping to.
    At product level, I have the options limited to the ones mentioned above.
    If I input a test customer for other countries (for example UK, AU, etc), I'll get rates.
    If I input any Canadian address I get "Unable to Calculate Shipping".

    2 questions...
    1. Any idea why this would be happening... not getting rates for a Canada address?
    2. In FedEx Web Services area, if FedEx Ground and FedEx Home Delivery is selected, should this be pulling and displaying rates for FedEx International Ground to Canada? Within the FedEx Web Services area, I don't have a separate checkbox for FedEx International Ground.

    If you wanted to test, I only have the above set up for one product, here:
    http://www.rainebrooke.com/product/Kal2965.html

    Thanks in advance for any help or suggestions.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    60

    Default Re: FedEx and Canada > no rates showing

    We seem to be having the same issues, using both the Fedex and UPS Ready modules.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    NE Ohio - Go Cavs!
    Posts
    898

    Default Re: FedEx and Canada > no rates showing

    Worked fine for ACTON, ON L7J0A1 with and without the space between first and second 3 in postal code. Got Fedex Intl Econ and Priority rates.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    152

    Default Re: FedEx and Canada > no rates showing

    Quote Originally Posted by nottheusual1 View Post
    Worked fine for ACTON, ON L7J0A1 with and without the space between first and second 3 in postal code. Got Fedex Intl Econ and Priority rates.
    Thanks for trying, but it's still not working for me.
    Did you try it on the test product (link above)?

    I did a search for an address is Acton and found 19 MANSEWOOD CRT
    So I input this in the address.
    City: Acton
    State: Outside US
    Province: Ontario
    Zip: L7J0A1
    Country: CA
    But still... "Unable to display..."

    Am I missing something?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    NE Ohio - Go Cavs!
    Posts
    898

    Default Re: FedEx and Canada > no rates showing

    Sure did. Tried it again. This time got a fedex ground rate, too?

    But I used "1011 Anystreet"

    ACTON, ON L7J 0A1
    CA

    fedex-canada.jpg
    Last edited by nottheusual1; 04-30-12 at 01:28 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    152

    Default Re: FedEx and Canada > no rates showing

    Quote Originally Posted by nottheusual1 View Post
    Sure did. Tried it again. This time got a fedex ground rate, too?

    But I used "1011 Anystreet"

    ACTON, ON L7J 0A1
    CA
    Thanks. I figured it out. I was spelling out Ontario. Doesn't work when it's spelled out. Has to be ON.
    When testing to another country such as Australia, both ways work. For example, WA or Western Australia.
    Seems like both should work for Canada too.
    Most of my Canada orders (for other product category), usually spell out the province.
    To me it seems like it should work both ways for Canada... thoughts ?
    Thanks again for the help.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    NE Ohio - Go Cavs!
    Posts
    898

    Default Re: FedEx and Canada > no rates showing

    No good suggestions, other than coding in a note below the data entry area to your Canadian customers to use the 2 letter province code.

    Also, if you're a Toolkit user, checkout #103 - Basketfiller. Keeps folks from having to re-enter info if they've left the checkout screens for some reason.
    Last edited by nottheusual1; 04-30-12 at 01:52 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    152

    Default Re: FedEx and Canada > no rates showing

    Quote Originally Posted by nottheusual1 View Post
    No good suggestions, other than coding in a note below the data entry area to your Canadian customers to use the 2 letter province code.

    Also, if you're a Toolkit user, checkout #103 - Basketfiller. Keeps folks from having to re-enter info if they've left the checkout screens for some reason.
    2 great suggestions! Thanks.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    60

    Default Re: FedEx and Canada > no rates showing

    Canadian provinces should be listed in the "states" dropdown list by abbreviation. This will make sure the shipping calulation works. we changed the denotation to "state/province" and only allowed the other to be used when the country was not US or Canada

Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •